top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

In the beginning, well not actually the beginning but it should be.

The beginning, sort of, was June 2016. I had spent much of the last five years in a fog. I had had a migraine headache for the better part of three years and after all that time suffering my cardiologist finally gave me a clean bill of health.

I really had not expected to hear that my heart was in great shape, just one year prior the same man that was telling me I was healthy told me I should be dead but instead of lecturing me on what I should be doing he told me I no longer needed any to take any type of heart medication.

Of course I was relieved but I had not planned any type of life for myself. The headaches were really keeping me from enjoying life and secretly I was hoping that I was nearing the end of my journey.

But that was not the case.

It was only 3 days after I had received the good news that I stood before my wife and her boyfriend (yes boyfriend) as she (Kim) told me that it was okay, she knew I was not happy as a man and that she wanted me to do whatever I need to do to make me happy; seek out a transgender doctor and begin HRT.

Truthfully I do not remember if I hugged her, jumped up and down and squealed like a little girl or just went numb but I do remember how much it changed my life.

I remember wasting away watching television, how I ignored my home, my family, my kids. I remember how my biggest dream in life was to die in my sleep so that I would no longer be a burden to my family, so that my headaches would finally stop.

What I didn't know was how difficult the beginning would be; not difficult in a social or professional manner but how difficult it would be in my own head and how the mountain I would have to climb was only massive in my imagination.

Regardless of how difficult, regardless of the challenges, I know that day changed my life and it would change the lives of everyone I knew. (I hope for the better)

And regardless of how much support I would gain from my family, I would find myself alone, beginning my life again, being born again....To do that, I would find, you must walk those first few steps by yourself before you can walk beside the ones that you love.

Yes sir, June 2015 was the birth of Kendra Chelsea; it may not be the real beginning of my story but... it should be.

bottom of page